Title – An investigation of the relationship between album covers and art and how album covers were crucial to the exposure of some forms of art in the mainstream.

Aim – My aim is to research the history of album covers going back to the time of vinyl records in order to gain an understanding of some of the most well known album covers and discuss how the design opened up the general publics eyes to things such as contemporary art. I hypothesise that my essay will show this clearly and it will be evidently supported  with my research.

Rationale – My FMP will be a website that draws inspiration from media websites such as complex and vice. They explore a lot of lifestyle themes and areas such as music and fashion. Researching this will help me to gain an understanding of the impact that things such as music and art have on people.

Research sources – Academic and cultural sources and possibly primary sources.

Bibliography –

de Ville, Nick (2003) Album: Style and Image in Sleeve Design, Octopus Publishing Group Ltd

Icon, (1999) Sampler Contemporary Music Graphics; Laurence King Publishing

Nerdwriter1, (2015) How the Beatles Changed Album Covers, Youtube

